EU Sanctions Against Kremlin Media RT and Sputnik in Force

The European Commission has immediately banned access in the EU to five channels of the Russian state-affiliated television network RT and the Sputnik news agency.


The punitive measure was published in the Official Journal of the European Union on Wednesday and is therefore immediately effective. According to the EU, the punished media are tools of the Kremlin to spread Russian propaganda in the war against Ukraine.

The legal measure applies to transmission and distribution via satellite, cable, online video channels and both new and existing apps. National media regulators are responsible for the implementation and enforcement of the sanction.

Several major tech companies, including Google, Facebook (Meta), Twitter, YouTube and the Chinese TikTok, have already committed themselves to the ban or have already taken measures to block RT or Sputnik.

Leave comment